Not a SweetH2O race report

Last weekend, I didn’t run the SweetH20 race. Not the 50K, not the 1/2 marathon. However, looking at the history of visitors, a number of people fould me because they were looking for that, and I mentioned it in my post about the ChickEkiden.

However, in honor of those that did run it, I made some SweetH2O Whole Wheat Beer Bread. And man, was it good. Here’s the recipe (originally found at allrecipes.com)

    • 1.5 cups All Purpose flour
    • 1.5 cups whole wheat flour
    • 4.5 teaspoons baking powder
    • 1.5 teaspoons salt
    • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar
    • 1 bottle or can of beer (12 oz)
    • Bake for 50-60 minutes until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.
  • Grease a loaf pan (i.e. spray with non-stick spray) and heat the over to 350
  • Combine dry ingredients.
  • Pour in beer. Enjoy the fizzle it makes. Stir until a stiff batter is formed. You may mix with your hands to do a better job of it.
  • Pour into pan and bake for 5-60 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean.

Now, I used a bottle of Sweetwater 420 beer. It’s one of only a couple local microbrews, and is pretty good. (As everyone knows, although I’m not a big drinker, I do enjoy good beer. Coming from Seattle, I miss the locals. I’ve even thought about becoming a beer seller just so I can get myself some Mac And Jacks African Amber and maybe a bit of Pyramid or RedHook. But I digress…)

This is a pretty hearty bread, dense and a bit chewy. Worked well warm with butter or with peanut butter. I think after a good run, it would probably hit the spot. Matter of fact, I may go make some just to bring tomorrow to find out…

Now, who’s going to bring the coffee? Have I mentioned I moved here from Seattle, where there is a Starbucks on every corner? And plenty of other coffee shops? Hmmmm…..

4 Responses to Not a SweetH2O race report

  1. michjoy61 says:

    Oooh, nice recipe! I must try it! I am a bread lover, beer too! I don’t drink it too often but this recipe sounds great! Thanks for sharing!
    Michelle

  2. rahn says:

    Let me know how it comes out and what beer you use.

    Because of a cold I had, I ended up not hooking my running club up. (Figured they’d appreciate that). So far, none have them have called me on it, so I may be off the hook. 😉

  3. David Ray says:

    So I guess that means you didn’t have to share.

    Mmmmmm . . . bread.

  4. bigrahn says:

    Dang, I need to proofread. Changed the last step to actually make sense.

    Gonna have a fresh loaf tomorrows group. Threw some raisins and sunflower seeds in, along with some butter on top. It may not make it until tomorrow morning. 🙂

Leave a Reply

